Speed Zoning

The Road Transport (Safety and Traffic Management) Act 1999 empowers the Roads and Maritime Services Authority (RMS) to set the speed limits on New South Wales roads through traffic regulations. 

The RMS determines the speed limits for all roads and road users based on a standardised set of guidelines and national agreements which aim to regulate the maximum speed of travel under good road and travel conditions.

The fundamental principle in setting speed limits for a particular length of road is that the established speed limit should reflect the road safety risk to the road users while maintaining the ability of people to easily get to their destination.

Key factors considered in the establishment of a speed limit include:

  • Crash profile
  • Road function
  • Road use 
  • Roadside development
  • Road characteristics
  • Traffic mix
  • Crash history 
  • The presence of vulnerable road users, such as pedestrians, motorcyclists and bicycle riders. 

Other factors may also include the number, type and frequency of driveways and intersections which indicate potential conflict points. 

These potential conflict points are considered because they allow vehicles to turn across traffic where there is the chance of a severe ‘t-bone’ type crash occurring.

To receive updates about changes to speed limits, subscribe to Safer Roads NSW's email update list.  

Request a speed zone change

Members of the public can request speed zone changes and raise any queries regarding speed zoning issues with Safer Roads NSW.

Collective comments received through this website, together with crash data and other road safety engineering information will be used to prioritise the roads which require a speed zone review. 

Safer Roads NSW will not respond to every inquiry but will use the information as part of the speed zone review prioritisation process.