New Employment Zones proposed across the Shire

Published on 03 June 2022

Wingecarribee Shire

In 2020 the State Government announced it was reforming the planning system to help businesses recover and grow following the pandemic.

Central to these reforms is the replacement of existing Business and Industrial zones in council Local Environmental Plans (LEPs) with a range of new Employment zones.

Council’s Executive Manager Strategic Outcomes Michael Park said the new Employment zones would provide greater flexibility for the business community, with appropriate mechanisms to provide certainty for the community, the development industry and Council.

“The proposed new Employment zones will help support businesses and industry to grow, respond and adapt as necessary and facilitate innovation and changes in business processes now and into the future,” he said.

“Council has also sought to include additional provisions which reflect the local context and provide businesses and the broader community with greater clarity and certainty.”

Across the Wingecarribee Shire existing affected zones include B1 Neighbourhood Centre, B2 Local Centre, B4 Mixed Use, B5 Business Development and B7 Business Park, as well as the IN1 General Industrial, IN2 Light Industrial and IN3 Heavy Industrial zones.

The following zone changes are proposed:

  • B1 Neighbourhood Centre and B3 Local Centre – amalgamated into a new E1 Local Centre Zone
  • B5 Business Development and B7 Business Park – amalgamated into a new E3 Productivity Support Zone
  • IN1 General Industrial and IN2 Light Industrial – amalgamated into a new E4 General Industrial Zone
  • IN3 Heavy Industrial will become the E5 Heavy Industrial Zone
  • B4 Mixed Use will become the MU1 Mixed Use Zone

Where zones have been amalgamated, the zone objectives and land use table for the more intensive Business or Industrial zone have generally been applied. Where no amalgamation of zones occurs, the current zone objectives and land use tables have generally been retained.

In addition, in the case of Highland villages which currently contain the B1 Neighbourhood Centre Zones, a new local clause is proposed to be inserted into the Wingecarribee Local Environmental Plan 2010.

“This clause aims to ensure the existing character and heritage of these villages is retained and preserved,” Mr Park explained.

The villages and localities affected by this proposed new clause are Balaclava, Berrima, Burrawang, Colo Vale, Exeter, Fitzroy Falls, Hill Top, New Berrima, Penrose, Renwick, Sutton Forest, Welby, Wingello and Yerrinbool.

The NSW Department of Planning and Environment is inviting stakeholders and interested persons to view the proposed amendments to individual LEP’s and provide comment up until 12 July 2022.

To view the proposed changes and to have your say, visit the Department’s Planning Portal at

For further information contact the NSW Department of Planning and Environment via email at or phone 1300 420 596.