Wingecarribee Celebrates Outstanding Citizens!

Published on 29 January 2024


Congratulations are in order for Uta and Dennis Purcell, who have been named the 2024 Citizens of the Year by Wingecarribee Shire Council. Additionally, Mackenzie Isedale has been honored as the 2024 Young Citizen of the Year.

Our community takes immense pride in the remarkable individuals among us, and the high caliber of nominations for the 2024 Citizen and Young Citizen of the Year Awards has been truly gratifying. The announcement of the winners took place at Berrima Village as part of our Australia Day ceremonies and celebrations.

Working in harmony as a dynamic duo, Uta and Dennis Purcell, residents of Burradoo, jointly secured the title of Wingecarribee Shire Council's Citizens of the Year 2024. Their commendable contributions to local education, charities, and the arts earned them this prestigious recognition.

Uta & Dennis

Key areas for being nominated:

  • Long term commitment as local educators, at Kangaloon, Mittagong, Moss Vale and Glenquarry Public Schools until their retirement in 2008.
  • Long term commitment to the Arts, voluntary work with Meals on Wheels, The Southern Highlands Concert Band, and as Justices of the Peace.
  • Dennis’ contribution to Cricket Umpiring and as an umpire for the NSW Blind Cricket Association.

The title of 2024 Young Citizen of the Year goes to Mackenzie Isedale from Welby, acknowledging her remarkable fundraising and charity efforts in the aftermath of her battle with cancer.


Key areas for being nominated:

  • Mackenzie is Vice Captain at Bowral High School for 2024, and has contributed to the community through fund raising and charitable initiatives since her childhood battle with cancer.
  • Advocate for other young cancer warriors, inspiring hope and action.

Congratulations extend to all the nominees, with special recognition for the winners. We celebrate the outstanding accomplishments of these individuals who contribute significantly to the betterment of our community.