• Home
  • Online Customer Service Centre

About the Wingecarribee Shire

About the Wingecarribee Shire Page Banner

Wingecarribee Shire covers an area of 2700 square kilometres.


This area is known to tourists as the Southern Highlands of New South Wales.

Shire Map showing localities within Wingecarribee Shire Council


PDF Wingecarribee Shire Council Map Showing Surrounding Local Government Areas (PDF, 3MB)

This Shire is an important catchment area for water supply to Sydney, Wollongong and the Northern Shoalhaven.


Much of the Shire is located at or above 640 metres above sea level. The main towns are:

  • Bowral
  • Moss Vale
  • Mittagong 
  • Bundanoon 

As well, there are smaller villages including Hill Top, Yerrinbool, Colo Vale, Robertson, Berrima, New Berrima, Exeter, Burrawang, Penrose, Willow Vale, Alpine, Balaclava, Renwick, Wingello, Sutton Forest, Avoca, Fitzroy Falls and Balmoral Village.

Wingecarribee Shire History Button Link

The pattern of development is one of small towns and villages, separated by a semi rural landscape and from a planning perspective, Council intends to retain this character of the Shire.


The Eastern parts of the Shire are bounded by the Illawarra escarpment and Morton National Park, with some remnant rainforest and heathland.


The North of the Shire is characterised by rugged Eucalypt bushland, with gullies, gorges and sandy soils. This area forms part of the catchment for Sydney's water supply and three major storage dams (Avon, Nepean and Cordeaux).


The Wollondilly and Wingecarribee Rivers flow through the West of the Shire, through deep sandstone valleys and much of this area forms part of the catchment for Warragamba Dam.


The South of the Shire is bounded by Uringalla Creek and includes the villages of Bundanoon, Wingello and Penrose. This area is a sandstone plateau dissected by deep gorges.


pdfWingecarribee Shire Council Map Showing Surrounding Local Government Areas (PDF, 3MB)

linkWingecarribee Shire History

Last Updated: August 28th, 2019
Can’t Find It?