

COUNCIL'S COMMITTEE STRUCTURE & TERMS OF REFERENCE ADOPTED BY COUNCIL ON 25 FEBRUARY 2015.

WINGECARRIBEE COMMUNITY SAFETY COMMITTEE

Name of Committee:	Wingecarribee Community Safety Committee		
Status of Committee: (Choose one only)	Peak Committee of the Whole Committee Event-Specific Sunset Working Group External Committee		
Created by resolution:			
Date of creation:	April 2014		
Structure of Committee: Note – each member shall have one (1) vote unless otherwise stated	The committee will consist of the following members: 1. Councillors (2) One member to be elected to the Chair and another to be elected as the alternate Chair Mayor of the Day – CIr L Whipper (Chair) CIr G McLaughlin – Alt. Chair CIr J G Arkwright 2. Representatives (3) from The Hume Local Area Command - Crime Manager, Duty Officer Bowral Sector, Area Commander or alternate delegates 3. Representatives (3) from the Business Chambers of Commerce – One nominated representative from each - Southern Highlands Chamber of Commerce & Industry, Moss Vale Chamber of Commerce, Robertson Chamber of Commerce – or an alternate delegate 4. Representative (1) from the Liquor Accord – one nominated representative or an alternate delegate 5. General community members (4) with an interest in community safety Mr Tony Springett Mr Laurie Stewart Mr Robert Westerway Ms Frances Crown 6. Invited guests including Federal and State Local Members of Parliament or their delegates 7. Wingecarribee Shire Council staff representation – General Manager, Group Manager Strategic and Assets, Community Development Coordinator, Road Safety Officer and other staff as required or invited		
Staff representation: Note - Staff shall not have voting rights in the committee	 Wingecarribee Shire Council staff representation – General Manager, Group Manager Strategic and Assets, Community Development Coordinator, Road Safety Officer and other staff as required or invited. 		



COUNCIL'S COMMITTEE STRUCTURE & TERMS OF REFERENCE ADOPTED BY COUNCIL ON 25 FEBRUARY 2015.

Objective(s) of Committee:	 Maintain a partnership between Wingecarribee Shire Council, The Hume Local Area Command and community members in addressing local crime prevention, community safety and well-being issues. To monitor and create Community Safety initiatives for the Wingecarribee Community. To identify real and potential community safety problems. To encourage community involvement in local 		
	community safety.		
Role(s) of Committee:	Advise Wingecarribee Shire Council on ger trends in the community concerning public sa and well-being.		
	Advise The Hume Local Area Command on iss concerning public safety in the Wingecarribee.	sues	
	3. Provide input into Council's preparation of the draft Community Safety Plan and provide an ongoing advisory setting to co-ordinate and enhance community safety and crime prevention.		
	 To provide current community crime profile data f the Wingecarribee. 		
	 Undertake specific projects as decided by the Committee and in accordance with Council's Delivery Program and Operation Plan with working parties drawn from the Committee membership to steer projects. 		
	6. To relate information and outcomes from the Committee back to the local community in relation to the Community Safety Plan and community safety projects.		
	7. Receive Police reports on local crime trends and crime prevention initiatives.		
	Consult with community groups.		
Delegation:	Committee of the Whole – Delegated to make decisions of Council in accordance with stated objective(s) and role(s)		
	No delegation – minutes to be directed to Ordinary Meeting of Council for ratification		
	Other: No delegation. The Committee provides feedback to Council Committee and The Hume Local Area Command. Recommendations will be sent to the most appropriate Council Committee or Police Officer for action and discussion.	\boxtimes	



COUNCIL'S COMMITTEE STRUCTURE & TERMS OF REFERENCE ADOPTED BY COUNCIL ON 25 FEBRUARY 2015.

Tenure of Committee: (How often shall the membership be put to the vote?)	Chairperson: Council	Annual 🛚	Tenure of
	Councillor membership: Council	Annual 🗵	Tenure of
	Community membership:	Bi Annual ⊠	Tenure of
Proposed meeting frequency:	<u> </u>	rtnightly required X	Monthly