PRIOR 1981

"When a town becomes a Municipality, order takes the place of chaos, hibernation is succeeded by activity, public interest is awakened, sanitary precautions are enforced, public nuisances are removed and many physical, moral and intellectual benefits of necessity ensue."

Bowral Free Press of 1883.



Bowral Municipal Council was gazetted on 18 February 1886.



Mittagong Municipal Council was gazetted on 24 July 1889.



Moss Vale Municipality was gazetted on 14 September 1888.



The three Councils came together to form the current Wingecarribee Shire Council on 1 January 1981.

MOSS VALE

Moss Vale Municipality was gazetted on 14 September 1888. An election was held on 17 November 1888, with the first meeting on 20 November 1888. When Shires were formed around New South Wales in 1906, the land around Moss Vale was incorporated in Wingecarribee Shire, with headquarters in Moss Vale. A temporary Council consisting of Messrs Hindmarsh, Badgery, Betts, Nicholas and Carter was appointed. The first meeting was held on 23 June 1906 to appoint H J Thorndike as Shire Clerk. The other job of this temporary Council was to arrange an election for the first Shire Council. This was held in November of 1906, with F A Badgery, David Morrice, W R Hindmarsh, H W Taylor, J A Badgery and A E H Carter elected. Eventually Moss Vale Municipal Council amalgamated with Wingecarribee Shire Council on 10 February 1933.

The last Wingecarribee Shire Council prior to amalgamation comprised Geoff Larsen [President], Bill Engelbach, Laurie Jones, Tim McKinnon, Horace Quigg, Rachel Roxburgh, Bill Missingham and Richie Tebbutt.

BOWRAL

Bowral Municipal Council was gazetted on 18 February 1886. The first Council was elected on 13 April 1886, with the first meeting held on 16 April 1886. 24 people nominated for election on the first Council, with the following 8 elected: J G Morris, W Charker, J J Campbell, J Loseby, J Hodgson, J L Campbell, R Bridge, C Funston and M Rice. J L Campbell was elected the first Mayor and W J Osborne the Shire Clerk on a salary of 50 pounds a year.

The Aldermen on the last Bowral Council were John Hawksley, Sel Dunkerley, Gordon Lewis, David Wood, Harry Springett, Bonnie Pierce, Austin McKinnon, Rick Redom and Ethel Willis. The last Mayor was David Wood.

MITTAGONG

Mittagong Municipal Council was gazetted on 24 July 1889. An election was held on 21 September 1889, with the first Council meeting on 30 September 1889.

The land surrounding Mittagong was formed into Nattai Shire in 1906 and on 5 December of 1906, the first Nattai Shire meeting was held.

Mittagong Municipality amalgamated with Nattai Shire on 1 January 1939, with the Nattai Shire changing it's name in March 1949 to Mittagong Shire.

Prior to the 1981 amalgamation, Mittagong Shire operated with an Administrator, Jim Gasson, who was appointed after the Council was dismissed by the Minister.

Geoff Goodfellow March 2006